RSS Feed

Moonlight Micro-Farm

cfh portrait

Chandra F. Hartman – owner

*all photos courtesy of e.m.marcus | photography

Name of business: Moonlight Micro-Farm
Owner’s Name: Chandra F. Hartman
Website: www.moonlightmicrofarm.com
Facebook: Moonlight Micro-Farm
Email: chandra[at]moonlightmicrofarm[dot]com
Phone: 850.624.7075

How long have you been in business? I started my residential design business, CFH Design Studio, in 2000 and Moonlight Micro-Farm as a complimentary business in 2008. Moonlight Micro-Farm is all about creating small scale food solutions that protect and enhance our biological resources. We help people grow their own food and create resilience in their lives by sharing knowledge, cultivating skills, and providing the necessary tools. We offer permaculture workshops, residential and ecological design – through CFH Design Studio, heirloom seeds, organic sprouting seeds, and gardening supplies.

How long have you lived in the area and where are you from? I’ve lived in Northwest Florida, both Walton County and Bay County, since 1996. I was born in Quantico, VA and have spent the first half of my life primarily in the DC area. Before moving to Florida, I lived and went to school in Frederick, MD.

How far do you travel for the market? We travel about 40 minutes every Saturday to the market from our home on the East end of Panama City Beach.

seed display copy

Heirloom seeds at the market

What products do you offer?
Moonlight Micro-Farm offers heirloom garden seeds, organic sprouting seeds, sprouting kits, and various gardening sundries.  These products are available online and we also provide consultation and design services through my sister company, CFH Design Studio.

What makes your items special or unique? I have made a commitment to only selling seeds that are open-pollinated, non-genetically modified, non-patented, and not owned by a large corporation like Monsanto or Syngenta. I strongly believe that seeds should be in the public domain, as they have been since the beginning of time. All people should have access to healthy food and the means to grow it. I source locally when possible and grow as much of my own food as I can. All of my sprouting seeds are hand mixed by me, certified organic, and non-GMO as well. I only sell products that I would use myself and feel comfortable with how they are made.

bok choy-2

Extra Dwarf Pak Choy grown from seed

Is there anything new on the horizon? New products, seasonal items or specials? I will be unveiling a new website soon and I am expanding my seed collection; including many that have been grown and harvested locally. I’m working on a new sprout mix and I’d also like to start on another eBook this year, perhaps about Permaculture or edible gardening.

sage2

Culinary Sage grown from seed

Seeds2

Heirloom Seed varieties

sprout_snack

Crimson & Clover Sprouts

Leave a Reply

